24th Annual Broward Achievement Awards

Published Tuesday, April 7, 2015

The 24rd Annual Broward Achievement Awards honored nine outstanding FAU Broward Campuses students, faculty and staff members during a lunchtime ceremony on Friday April 4, 2015 at the FAU Davie campus. The winter wonderland-themed event featured a catered gourmet buffet, a latte station and remarks by Dr. Corey A. King, Vice President for Student Affairs & Enrollment Management and Dr. Terry Mena, Associate Dean of Students, Student Affairs & Enrollment Management.

The event was organized by FAU Campus Life, with collaborations from the Office of Students with Disabilities, Office of the Registrar, Counseling and Psychological Services, College of Education, Student Union, and Student Health Services. In addition, each of the student winners received a $400 scholarship from Steve’s Espresso, the café located inside the FAU Davie Student Union.

24th Annual Broward Achievement Awards

Congratulations to the following winners:

  • Service Award: Caroline Bailey , Elementary Education; College of Education
  • Jeff Klein Disability Award Award: Demetrius Callins , Psychology; C.E. Schmidt College of Science
  • Commitment to Campus Life: Natacha Oscar , General Management Business; College of Business
  • Unsung Owl Award: Renee Graham , Accounting; College of Business
  • Faculty Member of the Year: Brad Lewter , Professor, Communication; D.F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters
  • Staff Member of the Year: Sgt. Anthony Scrima , Senior Police Service Technician; FAU Police, Davie
  • Graduate Owl of the Year: Saheed Oseni , Biological Sceinces; C.E. Schmidt College of Science.
  • Undergraduate Owl of the Year: Tanya McCrater , Social Work; College of Design & Social Inquiry
  • Owl Friend of the Year: Bobbie Priester , Admissions Coordinator; FAU Davie

The guest keynote speaker was former OWL Productions Director 2009 Luis Rosario, Director of Business Development for the Alive Foundation Inc. parent company to MorningCoach.com, PowerBizCoach.com, and Glossinger.com.

“Every year, the FAU Broward Achievement Awards honors students, faculty and staff who demonstrate not only academic excellence, but who through their leadership, discipline and service to others are inspirational role models,” said Peggy Joseph, Associate Director, Campus Life. “We congratulate this year’s winners and thank them for helping make FAU a greater place.”

 Last Modified 5/8/18