Welcome Statement for Academic Year 2015-16

Published Tuesday, September 1, 2015

Dear colleagues,

Anthony Abbate I hope you had a great summer and welcome back to campus!  A lot has been happening at our Broward Campuses over the last few months.

Dr. Cynthia L. Wilson, professor in Florida Atlantic University’s Department of Exceptional Student Education in the College of Education, received a $1.2 million federal grant award to be distributed over a five-year period from August 1, 2015 – July 30, 2020. The grant was awarded by the U. S. Department of Education, Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services, Office of Special Education Programs.  It funds a project of intensive intervention for students with ASD who have persistent and severe needs.

Congratulations to Assistant Professor Jeffrey Huber, in the School of Architecture and his co-PIs, who were awarded a $283,000 grant from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Florida Sea Grant program. Also kudos to Francis Lyn, Associate Professor for the recent National Endowment for the Arts award of $25,000 for the project, Botanizing the Asphalt of North Beach Village: Integrating Art and Resilient Design which also received a matching grant of $25,000 from the City of Fort Lauderdale.

The latest issue of Remarque is due to launch soon, thanks to the efforts of Editor-in-Chief Leah Silochan and faculty advisor Stephanie Cunningham.  FAU Broward Campus Administration is proud to fund this annual journal of graphic design, art, photography, film video and new media, and architecture produced by our students.

Much appreciation goes to Dr. Vanessa Johnson from the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing, for her service to the FAU-Broward College Joint Library Governance/Policy Committee.  We welcome and thank Dr. Don Adams, from the Department of English and Dr. Dianne Wright from the College of Education, who will now serve as faculty representatives to that committee.

I am pleased to share with you that Miguel Hernandez will start serving as the Director of Enrollment Management and Academic Services on Monday, August 24. Mr. Hernandez comes to us from Nova Southeastern University’s Shepard Broad Law Center.

I would like to thank Ashley Buchanan for her excellent service as interim director. She will serve as Assistant Director for Academic Services and LINK.  Ashley is also leading the Broward Team in the 2015 Palm Beach County Heart Walk on Saturday, September 26 in downtown West Palm Beach.  Our goal is to have 25 Broward team members join our colleagues from across the university in support of the American Heart Association. Please contact Ashley if you are interested in participating!

I would also like to express appreciation to Shireen Lalla for leading the Undergraduate Student Research initiatives at FAU Broward.

And thanks to Dr. Alberto Fernandez and the Office of Information Technology Broward Technology Services for the fabulous upgrades to our classrooms, computer labs, video-conference rooms and seminar spaces.  These continual improvements provide our faculty and students with the latest technology across our Broward campuses.

We excitedly anticipate the next Sea Level Rise Summit organized by the Florida Center for Environmental Studies, planned for February 2015 at our Davie Campus.  Experts from across the continent will convene to discuss the connected futures of Alaska and Southern Florida and the social and environmental impacts of climate change.

Finally Dr. Victoria Brown, Assistant Provost for e-Learning, and I look forward to welcoming faculty to the new eLearning training facility located in LA 203 (formerly the OSD offices) at the opening reception on September 10 from 9:00 am to 12:00 noon.

On behalf of the FAU Broward Administration Team and myself, we look forward to serving you in the year ahead as we continue to collaborate in our efforts toward becoming the fastest improving public research university!

Best wishes,

Anthony Abbate AIA NCARB
Associate Provost for the Broward Campuses
Professor | School of Architecture

 Last Modified 11/8/16