

Item: CG: A-M

COMMUNITY AND GOVERNMENTAL RELATIONS COMMITTEE Tuesday, August 21, 2018

SUBJECT: ROLL CALL AND APPROVAL OF MAY 15, 2018 MINUTES

PROPOSED COMMITTEE ACTION

Initiate roll call to document member participation and ensure quorum, and approve the minutes of the May 15, 2018 meeting.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Mrs. Mary Beth McDonald, Chair	
Dr. Jeffrey Feingold, Vice Chair	
Mr. Anthony Barbar, ex-officio	
Dr. Michael Dennis	
Mr. Brad Levine	
Mr. Kyle MacDonald	
Mr. Abdol Moabery, ex-officio	
Dr. Kevin Wagner	

PARTICIPATING BOT MEMBERS

Mr. Brent Burns	
Mr. Shaun Davis	
Dr. Malcolm Dorman	
Mr. Robert Rubin	
Mr. Robert Stilley	



COMMUNITY AND GOVERNMENTAL RELATIONS COMMITTEE

Meeting Minutes of May 15, 2018

CG: A-M Roll Call:

Trustee Mary Beth McDonald, Committee Chair, called the meeting to order and initiated the roll call. In addition to Trustee McDonald, the following committee members were present: Trustee Anthony Barbar (*ex-officio*), Trustee Dr. Michael Dennis, Trustee Brad Levine, Trustee Abdol Moabery (*ex-officio*), and Trustee Dr. Kevin Wagner.

Other Trustees attending the meeting included: Trustee Shaun Davis, Trustee Dr. Malcolm Dorman, Trustee Robert Rubin, and Trustee Robert Stilley.

A quorum was present and the committee was called to order.

The following university officials participated: Ms. Danita Nias, Vice President for Institutional Advancement and CEO of FAU Foundation, Inc.

Trustee McDonald called for approval of the November 14, 2017 and February 20, 2018 meeting minutes. A motion was made and seconded to approve the meeting minutes as presented. With no further discussion or amendment, the motion passed unanimously.

CG: A-1 Recommend Naming Elements:

- Todd and Elycia Morris
- Steve and Brenda Weinstein
- The LeRoy Collins Legacy Group
- Dr. Charles H. Hennekens

Ms. Danita Nias, VP for Institutional Advancement and CEO of FAU Foundation, Inc. presented four requests for naming university elements.

The first request was to recognize a gift by Todd and Elycia Morris, who are giving \$50,000 dollars to the A.D. Henderson FAU High School in support of the "Let's Build It Together" campaign. The Morris' are community leaders who are graduates of the US Naval Academy and the Air Force Academy, yet they have two children that attend the Henderson

School and they are extremely excited about the project. The specific university element that will named for them will be determined within one year.

Trustee McDonald called for a motion to approve the Todd and Elycia Morris Naming Element. A motion was made and seconded. No discussion or commentary followed. The motion passed unanimously.

The next University Naming Element was a gift from new friends to the university, Steve and Brenda Weinstein. Steve and Brenda Weinstein are donating \$100,000 dollars in support of The Head Strength and Conditioning Coach's Office within the Schmidt Family Complex for Academic and Athletic Excellence. They are from Alabama, long-term residents of Boca Raton and wanted to demonstrate their support to the football program and made their first gift to the university of \$100,000 to name the head strength coach's office.

Trustee McDonald called for a motion to approve the naming of Head Strength and Conditioning Coach's Office Naming Element. A motion was made and seconded. No discussion or commentary followed. The motion passed unanimously.

The third University Naming Element was to honor The Leroy Collins Legacy Group, which is making a gift of \$475,000 dollars to name the Public Ethics Academy within the College of Design and Social Inquiry. They have requested that it be named the LeRoy Collins Public Ethics Academy. The LeRoy Collins Legacy Group is a foundation that is dissolving and liquidating their endowment. They invited several universities in Florida to compete for those funds and FAU was selected to receive their funds. In recognition they would like to memorialize one of Florida's great Governors, LeRoy Collins, and they also would like to create and endowment for scholarships for students who want to study in the Public Ethics Academy.

Trustee McDonald called for a motion to approve the naming of The LeRoy Collins Publics Ethics Academy. A motion was made and seconded. No discussion or commentary followed. The motion passed unanimously.

The last University Naming Element was to recognize a gift from Dr. Charles Hennekens, who made a gift of \$200,000 to name the Hennekens Library and Technology Hub within the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, in Honor of Sarah K. Wood, a distinguished scholar.

Trustee McDonald called for a motion to approve the naming of the Hennekens Library and Technology Hub in Honor of Sarah K. Wood, M.D. A motion was made and seconded. No discussion or commentary followed. The motion passed unanimously.

A motion to adjourn the committee's meeting was made, seconded, and approved.