Arts and Letters Banner

Faculty Accomplishments


Morton>>Jeffrey Morton, professor of political science, has been named a Fellow at the Foreign Policy Association. The Foreign Policy Association (FPA) was founded in 1918 to promote a broad public understanding of American foreign policy through scholarship and teaching. In 2012, Dr. Morton was the recipient of the Foreign Policy Association Medal at the World Leadership Forum Dinner in New York City.



 >>Taylor Hagood, professor of American Literature in the Department of English, has been selected to serve as a research ambassador for the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) for 2013-14. DAAD is the German national agency for the support of international academic cooperation. This year, the research ambassador program is honoring 23 individuals who have conducted a long-term research project in Germany at the doctoral level or above. The ambassadors will serve as liaisons for DAAD in the United States and Canada to promote research opportunities in Germany among their colleagues, peers and students.


Gurses>>Mehmet Gurses, associate professor of political science, recently moderated a panel at a conference on the "Kurdish Role in the New Middle East" convened at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. The conference brought together academics, journalists, public opinion leaders, and policy makers from Turkey, Iran, Iraq, Syria, and the United States to discuss changing dynamics in the Middle East. Founded in 1908, the National Press Club has hosted every American president along with foreign monarchs, prime ministers, diplomats and scholars.


Gamble>>Richard Gamble, associate professor of theatre and dance, has been awarded the 2013 Outstanding Theatre Arts Educator by the Florida Association for Theatre Education (FATE). Gamble has been at FAU for more than 20 years, serving as chair of the Department of Theatre and Dance for five years. Prior to coming to FAU, he taught at several institutions across the country. Gamble's award is one of four annual awards made by FATE to recognize people that are furthering their goals of assuring that every Florida student have access to an education that includes theatre and dramatic arts taught by qualified theatre arts instructors.


Ruthenberg>>Myriam Ruthenberg, associate professor of Languages, Linguistics & Comparative Literature, was awarded the 2013 FAU Faculty Talon Leadership Award. Ruthenberg received the award for her exceptional record of leadership, commitment, and service to students through activities both in and out of the classroom. She is pictured here (left) with FAU President Dennis Crudele (center) and Marcella Munson, chair of the Department of Languages, Linguistics and Comparative Literature.


Brown>>Susan Love Brown, professor of anthropology, was awarded the "Distinguished Scholar" award at the Communal Studies Association Conference in Pennsylvania. This award honors those persons who have contributed greatly to the scholarly study of communal societies, both past and present, concentrating on those in the United States.


Poulson>>Nancy Poulson, professor of languages, linguistics and comparative literature, was elected Vice Chair to the Florida Humanities Council. The mission of the council is to help preserve Florida's rich cultural heritage, promote civic engagement, and foster connections among humanities scholars, cultural organizations, and community groups.

 Last Modified 4/1/14