English Faculty

The phone numbers listed below are extensions for calling within the university system. Use the following area codes and prefixes to call from outside the system:

  • Boca Raton campus (561) 297-
  • Davie campus (954) 236-
  • MacArthur (Jupiter) campus (561) 799-

Faculty

Adams, Robert Don|Professor
Office: Davie DW 303J. Phone: 7-3830. radams@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Modern British and American Literature, Gay and Lesbian Literature
Balkan, Stacey|Assistant Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 325. Phone: 7-3830. sbalkan@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Literature and the Environment, Ecocriticism, Global South Studies, Petrocultures & Petromodernity, Postcolonial Literature and Theory, Postcolonial Eco-criticism, Anglophone World Literatures
Barrios, Barclay|Associate Dean and Associate Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 338. Phone: 7-4573. Email: bbarrios@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Composition and Rhetoric, Computers and Composition, Writing Program Administration, Technorhetoric
Berlatsky, Eric L.|Professor and Department Chair
Office: Boca Raton, CU 306G. Phone: 7-3831. Email: eberlats@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: 20th-century British and Postcolonial Literatures, Modernism, Postmodernism, Critical Theory, Comics Studies
Steve Blakemore
Blakemore, Steve|Professor Emeritus
Areas of Specialization: 18th-century Transatlantic literature and culture; Edmund Burke; Thomas Paine; Joel Barlow.
Bradford, Adam|Associate Dean, Associate Professor, and Director of the Comparative Studies PhD Program
Office: Boca Raton, AH 214. Phone:7-0928. Email: abradfo5@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: 18th- and 19th-century American Literature, material culture and history of the book.
Bucak, A. Papatya|Associate Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 348. Phone: 7-3830. Email: pbucak@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Creative Writing, Fiction
Buckton, Oliver|Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 364. Phone: 7-3836. Email: obuckton@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: 19th-century and 20th-century British Literature and Culture, Film, Gender Studies, Spy Fiction, Theory and Criticism
Chenovick, Clarissa|Assistant Professor
Office: CU 353. Phone: 7-3830.Email: cchenovick@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization:Renaissance Literature, Medieval and Early Modern Devotional Writing, History of Science and Medicine, History of Reading and Voice, Translation and Multilingualism
Dagbovie-Mullins, Sika|Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Office: Boca Raton, CU 323. Phone: 7-3830. Email: sdagbovi@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: African American Literature, Literature of the African Diaspora, Critical Mixed Race Studies, Theories of Gender, Race, and Ethnicity, Popular Culture

de la Garza Valenzuela, José A.|Assistant Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 346. Phone: 7-3830. Email: jdelagarzavalenz@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Latinx Literature
Faraci, Mary|Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 330. Phone: 7-3830. Email: faraci@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Linguistics and Medieval Literature
Furman, Andrew|Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 360. Phone: (GV) 561-440-3630. Email: afurman@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: 20th-century American and Multi-ethnic Literature, Judaic Studies, Creative Writing, Fiction, Creative Non-fiction
Galin, Jeffrey R.|Associate Professor and Director of the University Center for Excellence in Writing
Office: Boca Raton, CU 350. Phone: 7-3830. Email: jgalin@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Composition, Literacy, Technology, Intellectual Property, and Writing Program Administration
Hagood, Taylor|Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 343. Phone: 7-3830. Email: thagood@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: American Literature and Culture (Faulkner, African American, Southern) and Critical Theory
Hinshaw, Wendy|Associate Professor and Director of the Writing Program
Office: Boca Raton, CU 306J. Phone: 7-3838. Email: whinshaw@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Contemporary Rhetoric and Composition Theory, Feminist Theory, Literacy Studies, Prison Literature, and Service-Learning
Johnson, Shelby|Assistant Professor
Office: Boca Raton CU 351. Phone: 7-3830 Email: shelbyjohnson@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: 18th- and 19th-century Transatlantic Literature, Race and Political Theory, Environmental Humanities, Religion and Spirituality
Kini, Ashvin|Assistant Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 322. Phone: 7-3830 Email: akini@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Postcolonial literature, U.S. multiethnic literature, transnational feminist and queer studies, critical ethnic studies, British and U.S. empire, Asian American studies, film studies
Leeds, John C.|Associate Professor
Office: Davie, DW 303G. Phone: 7-3830. Email: jleeds@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: British Renaissance Literature, Renaissance Latin Literature
Lettman, Stacy J.|Assistant Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 332. Phone: 7-3830.
Areas of Specialization: Caribbean Literature
Low, Jennifer|Professor Emeritus
Email: Email: jlow@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Shakespeare and Early Modern Drama, Renaissance Literature and Early Modern Culture, Modern and Contemporary Drama
MacDonald, Ian|Assistant Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 315. Phone: 7-3830. Email: imacdonald@fau.edu
Areas of specialization: Speculative Fiction and Fantasy, African and Diasporic Literature, Postcolonial Literature and Theory, Utopian Literature, Globalization and Cosmopolitanism
Julia Mason
Mason, Julia|Associate Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 339. Phone: 7-3830. Email: jmason32@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Rhetoric and Composition, Professional and Technical Writing, Posthuman Theory, Computers and Composition
McGuirk, Carol|Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 313. Phone: 7-3830. Email: cmcguirk@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: 18th-century British Literature, Scottish Studies, Contemporary Fiction
McKay, Becka|Associate Professor and Director of Creative Writing
Office: Davie, DW 303L. Phone: 7-3830. Email: rmckay3@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Translation, Creative Writing
Mitchell, Susan|Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 362. Phone: 7-2961. Email: smitch21@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Creative Writing, Poetry
Schmitt, Kate|Associate Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 328. Phone: 7-2570. Email: kschmit5@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Creative Nonfiction
Schwartz, Jason|Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 357. Phone: 7-3837. Email: jschwart@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Creative Writing, Fiction
Scroggins, Mark|Professor Emeritus
Areas of Specialization: 20th-century American Literature, Poetry, Modernism, and Post-Modernism, Creative Writing
Stagliano, Anthony|Assistant Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 326. Phone: 7-3830. Email: astagliano@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Contemporary Rhetorical Theory; Media Theory; Publics; Arts-Based Research
Stockard, Emily|Associate Professor and Associate Department Chair
Office: DW 303B and CU 342. Phone: 7-3830. Email: stockard@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: English Renaissance
Thomas, Carla|Assistant Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 347. Phone: 7-3830. Email: carlathomas@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Old and Middle English Language and Literature, Religious Prose and Poetry, Manuscript Studies, Vernacularity, Multilingualism, and History of the English Language
Ulin, Julieann|Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies
Office: Boca Raton, CU 349. Phone: 7-3830. Email: julin@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Irish Literature, Transatlantic Modernism

 

 

 

Instructors

Amadori, Claudia. Instructor of English. Office: CU 356. Phone:(GV) 561-349-7102. camadori@fau.edu 

Anderson, Stephanie. Instructor of English. Office: CU 340. Phone: 7-3830. sjohn210@fau.edu 

Blount, Janelle. Instructor of English and Associate Director of Writing Program. Office: CU 306B. Phone: 7-3830. blountj@fau.edu 

Bresciano, Cora. Visting Instructor of English. Office: CU 316. Phone: 7-3830. cbrescia@fau.edu

Carter, Sari. Visiting Instructor of English. Office: CU 316. Phone: 7-3830. carters@fau.edu

Cassanetti, Nico. Instructor of English. Office: CU 331. Phone: 7-3830. ncassane@fau.edu 

Criscuolo, Melissa. Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 318. Phone: 7-3830. mgarc112@fau.edu 

De Stefano, Kelly. Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 306B. Phone: 7-3830. kdestef@fau.edu 

Dickerson, Curtis. Visiting Instructor of English. Office: CU 316. Phone: 7-3830. cdickerson@fau.edu

Frost, Tiffany. Senior Instructor of English and Interim Graduate Advisor. Office: CU 355/CU306F). Phone: 7-3830. tfrost3@fau.edu 

Gifford, Sheryl. Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 358. Phone: 7-3830. sgifford@fau.edu 

Gothard, Andrew. Instructor of English. Office: CU 331. Phone: 7-3830. jgothard@fau.edu 

Gutting, Gabrielle. Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 344. Phone: 7-3830. ggutting@fau.edu 

Henson, Jacob. Instructor of English. Office: CU 324. Phone: 7-3830. jhenson4@fau.edu 

Jasin, Joanne , Instructor. Office: DW 303M. Phone: 7-3830. jjasin@fau.edu 

Kelly, Warren Hill. Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 345. Phone: 7-3830. wkelly13@fau.edu 

Kiley, Erin. Instructor of English. Office: CU 329. Phone: 7-3830. ekiley1@fau.edu 

Moorhead, Kathleen. Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 350. Phone: 7-3830. kmoorhea@fau.edu 

Potter, Richard. Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 319. Phone: 7-3830. rpotter@fau.edu 

Redman, Frederick. Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 327. Phone: 7-3830. fredman@fau.edu 

Rooney, Scarlett. Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 352. Phone: 7-3830. srooney2@fau.edu 

Sheffield-Gentry, Mary. Senior Instructor of English and Graduate Advisor. Office: CU 306F. Phone: 7-3830. msheffi3@fau.edu 

Sink, Suzanne. Senior Instructor of English. Office: GS 215D. Phone: 7-3830. ssink@fau.edu 

Trewick, Lillith. Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 317. Phone: 7-3830. ltrewick@fau.edu 

Waldron, Justin. Instructor of English. Office: CU 342. Phone: 7-3830 . jwaldro4@fau.edu 

Zvolensky, Julianne. Senior Instructor of English. Office: GS 215. Phone: 7-1017. jzvolensky@fau.edu 

Affiliated Faculty

Berger, Alan L., Raddock Eminent Scholar Chair for Holocaust Studies, Director, The Center for the Study of Values and Violence after Auschwitz
Office: Boca Raton, AH 118. Phone: 7-2979. aberger@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Literature of the Holocaust, Modern Jewish Thought, Jewish Theology, Jewish American Literature

Shusterman, Richard, Dorothy F. Schmidt Eminent Scholar in the Humanities and Professor of Philosophy and English, Director, Florida Atlantic University Center for Body, Mind, and Culture 
Office: Boca Raton, SO 124. Phone: 7-0851. shuster1@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: American Philosophy, Aesthetics, Ethics and Political Theory, Philosophy of Language and Mind, Contemporary Continental Philosophy, Literary Criticism and Theory, Modernism and Postmodernism

For more information contact the Department of English administrative office at 297-3830 or at english@fau.edu