English Faculty

The phone numbers listed below are extensions for calling within the university system. Use the following area codes and prefixes to call from outside the system:

  • Boca Raton campus (561) 297-
  • Davie campus (954) 236-
  • MacArthur (Jupiter) campus (561) 799-

Faculty

Don Adams

Adams, Robert Don, Professor
Office: Davie DW 303J. Phone: 7-3830. radams@fau.edu  
Areas of Specialization: Modern British and American Literature, Gay and Lesbian Literature

Balkan, Stacey , Assistant Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 325. Phone: 7-3830. sbalkan@fau.edu 
Area of Specialization: Literature and the Environment, Eco-criticism, Postcolonial Literature and Theory, Postcolonial Eco-criticism, Anglophone World Literature

Barclay Barrios

Barrios, Barclay, Associate Dean and Associate Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 338. Phone: 7-4573. bbarrios@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Composition and Rhetoric, Computers and Composition, Writing Program Administration, Technorhetoric

Berlatsky, Eric L., Professor and Department Chair
Office: Boca Raton, CU 306G. Phone: 7-3831. eberlats@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: 20th-century British and Postcolonial Literatures, Modernism, Postmodernism, Critical Theory, Comics Studies

Steve Blakemore RJ Boutelle

Blakemore, Steve, Professor Emeritus
Email: sblakemo@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: 18th-century Transatlantic literature and culture; Edmund Burke; Thomas Paine; Joel Barlow.

 

 


Boutelle, RJ
, Assistant Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 341. Phone: 7-3830. rboutelle@fau.edu 
Area of Specialization: African American Literature, Early American Literature, Hemispheric Studies, Critical Race Theory, Diaspora, Print Culture and History of the Book

Bradford, Adam, Associate Dean, Associate Professor, and Director of the Comparative Studies PhD Program
Office: Boca Raton, AH 214. Phone:7-0928. abradfo5@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: 18th- and 19th-century American Literature, material culture and history of the book.

Papatya Bucak

Bucak, A. Papatya, Associate Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 348. Phone: 7-3830. pbucak@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Creative Writing, Fiction

Buckton, Oliver, Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 364. Phone: 7-3836. obuckton@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: 19th-century and 20th-century British Literature and Culture, Film, Gender Studies, Spy Fiction, Theory and Criticism

Clarissa Chenovick

Chenovick, Clarissa, Assistant Professor
Office: CU 353. Phone: 7-3830. cchenovick@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Renaissance Literature, Medieval and Early Modern Devotional Writing, History of Science and Medicine, History of Reading and Voice, Translation and Multilingualism

 

Dagbovie-Mullins, Sika, Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Office: Boca Raton, CU 323. Phone: 7-3830. sdagbovi@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: African-American Literature, Women's Studies, Theories of Race, Gender, and Ethnicity

Jose De La Garza Valenzuela

de la Garza Valenzuela, José A. , Assistant Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 346. Phone: 7-3830. jdelagarzavalenz@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Latinx Literature

Faraci, Mary, Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 330. Phone: 7-3830. faraci@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Linguistics and Medieval Literature

Furman, Andrew, Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 360. Phone: (GV) 561-440-3630. afurman@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: 20th-century American and Multi-ethnic Literature, Judaic Studies, Creative Writing, Fiction, Creative Non-fiction

Jeff Galin

Galin, Jeffrey R., Associate Professor and Director of the University Center for Excellence in Writing
Office: Boca Raton, CU 350. Phone: 7-3830. jgalin@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Composition, Literacy, Technology, Intellectual Property, and Writing Program Administration

Devin Garofalo

Garofalo, Devin, Assistant Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 326. Phone 7-3830. dgarofalo@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: 19th-century British literature, formalism, the history of science and the environmental humanities, empire, gender and sexuality

Taylor Hagood

Hagood, Taylor, Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 343. Phone: 7-3830. thagood@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: American Literature and Culture (Faulkner, African American, Southern) and Critical Theory

Hinshaw, Wendy, Associate Professor and Director of the Writing Program
Office: Boca Raton, CU 306J. Phone: 7-3838. whinshaw@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Contemporary Rhetoric and Composition Theory, Feminist Theory, Literacy Studies, Prison Literature, and Service-Learning

Shelby Johnson

Johnson, Shelby, Assistant Professor
Office: Boca Raton CU 351. Phone: 7-3830 shelbyjohnson@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: 18th- and 19th-century Transatlantic Literature, Race and Political Theory, Environmental Humanities, Religion and Spirituality

 



Kini, Ashvin
, Assistant Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 322. Phone: 7-3830 akini@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Postcolonial literature, U.S. multiethnic literature, transnational feminist and queer studies, critical ethnic studies, British and U.S. empire, Asian American studies, film studies

Leeds, John C., Associate Professor
Office: Davie, DW 303G. Phone: 7-3830. jleeds@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: British Renaissance Literature, Renaissance Latin Literature

Stacy Lettman

Lettman, Stacy, Assistant Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 332. Phone: 7-3830. lettmans@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Caribbean Literature

Low, Jennifer, Professor Emeritus
Email: jlow@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Shakespeare and Early Modern Drama, Renaissance Literature and Early Modern Culture, Modern and Contemporary Drama

MacDonald, Ian, Assistant Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 315. Phone: 7-3830. imacdonald@fau.edu 
Areas of specialization: Speculative Fiction and Fantasy, African and Diasporic Literature, Postcolonial Literature and Theory, Utopian Literature, Globalization and Cosmopolitanism

Thomas Martin

Martin, Thomas, Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 318. Phone: 7-3830. tmartin@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Theory and Criticism, Renaissance Literature, Fantasy Literature

Julia Mason

Mason, Julia, Associate Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 339. Phone: 7-3830. jmason32@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Rhetoric and Composition, Professional and Technical Writing, Posthuman Theory, Computers and Composition

McGuirk, Carol, Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 313. Phone: 7-3830. cmcguirk@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: 18th-century British Literature, Scottish Studies, Contemporary Fiction

McKay, Becka, Associate Professor and Director of Creative Writing
Office: Davie, DW 303L. Phone: 7-3830. rmckay3@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Translation, Creative Writing

Mitchell, Susan, Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 362. Phone: 7-2961. smitch21@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Creative Writing, Poetry

 

Schmitt, Kate, Associate Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 328. Phone: 7-2570. kschmit5@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Creative Nonfiction

Schwartz, Jason, Professor
Office: Boca Raton, CU 357. Phone: 7-3837. jschwart@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Creative Writing, Fiction

Mark Scroggins

Scroggins, Mark, Professor Emeritus
Email: mscroggi@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: 20th-century American Literature, Poetry, Modernism, and Post-Modernism, Creative Writing

Emily Stockard

Stockard, Emily, Associate Professor and Associate Department Chair
Office: DW 303B and CU 342. Phone: 7-3830 . stockard@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: English Renaissance

Carla Thomas
Thomas, Carla María, Assistant Professor
Office: CU 347. Phone: 7-3830. carlathomas@fau.edu

Areas of Specialization: Old and Middle English Language and Literature, Religious Prose and Poetry, Manuscript Studies, Vernacularity, Multilingualism, and History of the English Language 

Ulin, Julieann, Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies
Office: Boca Raton, CU 349. Phone: 7-3830. julin@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Irish Literature, Transatlantic Modernism

 

 

 

Instructors

Amadori, Claudia. Instructor of English. Office: CU 356. Phone:(GV) 561-349-7102. camadori@fau.edu 

Anderson, Stephanie. Instructor of English. Office: CU 340. Phone: 7-3830. sjohn210@fau.edu 

Blount, Janelle. Instructor of English and Associate Director of Writing Program. Office: CU 306B. Phone: 7-3830. blountj@fau.edu 

Bresciano, Cora. Visting Instructor of English. Office: CU 316. Phone: 7-3830. cbrescia@fau.edu

Cassanetti, Nico. Instructor of English. Office: CU 331. Phone: 7-3830. ncassane@fau.edu 

Criscuolo, Melissa. Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 318. Phone: 7-3830. mgarc112@fau.edu 

De Stefano, Kelly. Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 306B. Phone: 7-3830. kdestef@fau.edu 

Dickerson, Curtis. Visiting Instructor of English. Office: CU 316. Phone: 7-3830. cdickerson@fau.edu

Frost, Tiffany. Instructor of English and Interim Graduate Advisor. Office: CU 355 (Fall 2018 CU306F). Phone: 7-3830. tfrost3@fau.edu 

Gifford, Sheryl. Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 358. Phone: 7-3830. sgifford@fau.edu 

Gothard, Andrew. Instructor of English. Office: CU 331. Phone: 7-3830. jgothard@fau.edu 

Gutting, Gabrielle. Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 344. Phone: 7-3830. ggutting@fau.edu 

Henson, Jacob. Instructor of English. Office: CU 324. Phone: 7-3830. jhenson4@fau.edu 

Jasin, Joanne , Instructor. Office: DW 303M. Phone: 7-3830. jjasin@fau.edu 

Kelly, Warren Hill. Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 345. Phone: 7-3830. wkelly13@fau.edu 

Kiley, Erin. Instructor of English. Office: CU 329. Phone: 7-3830. ekiley1@fau.edu 

Moorhead, Kathleen. Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 350. Phone: 7-3830. kmoorhea@fau.edu 

Potter, Richard. Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 319. Phone: 7-3830. rpotter@fau.edu 

Redman, Frederick. Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 327. Phone: 7-3830. fredman@fau.edu 

Rooney, Scarlett. Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 352. Phone: 7-3830. srooney2@fau.edu 

Sheffield-Gentry, Mary. Senior Instructor of English and Graduate Advisor. Office: CU 306F. Phone: 7-3830. msheffi3@fau.edu 

Sink, Suzanne. Senior Instructor of English. Office: GS 215D. Phone: 7-3830. ssink@fau.edu 

Trewick, Lillith. Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 317. Phone: 7-3830. ltrewick@fau.edu 

Waldron, Justin. Instructor of English. Office: CU 342. Phone: 7-3830 . jwaldro4@fau.edu 

Zvolensky, Julianne. Senior Instructor of English. Office: GS 215. Phone: 7-1017. jzvolensky@fau.edu 

Affiliated Faculty

Berger, Alan L., Raddock Eminent Scholar Chair for Holocaust Studies, Director, The Center for the Study of Values and Violence after Auschwitz
Office: Boca Raton, AH 118. Phone: 7-2979. aberger@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Literature of the Holocaust, Modern Jewish Thought, Jewish Theology, Jewish American Literature

Shusterman, Richard, Dorothy F. Schmidt Eminent Scholar in the Humanities and Professor of Philosophy and English, Director, Florida Atlantic University Center for Body, Mind, and Culture 
Office: Boca Raton, SO 124. Phone: 7-0851. shuster1@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: American Philosophy, Aesthetics, Ethics and Political Theory, Philosophy of Language and Mind, Contemporary Continental Philosophy, Literary Criticism and Theory, Modernism and Postmodernism

For more information contact the Department of English administrative office at 297-3830 or at english@fau.edu