spacer spacer spacer
> FAU PEOPLE DIRECTORY > SITE INDEX > ALTERNATIVE VIEW
spacer
spacer
spacer CATALOG SEARCH spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer FAU WEB SEARCH spacer
spacer
FAU LifeLong Learning, Boca Raton
Back to previous page  
 
menu
GENERAL INFORMATION

 
Tuition, Fees and Refunds

Registration Fees
Tuition and other fees are due on or before the last day to pay (see the Academic Calendar). A student is not considered officially registered and may not attend classes until fees are paid or arrangements are made to pay fees. Arrangements to pay fees include, but are not limited to: acceptance of a financial aid award; acceptance of a tuition deferment for pending financial aid; third party billing, including payment by the Florida Prepaid College Program; participation in one of the University's payment plans (not available during the summer semesters); or matriculation or non-resident waivers. Florida Statutes do not allow FAU to register any individual who has debts with the University.

Tuition and fees are charged for each credit scheduled based on the course level and the residency status of the student. Tuition and fees are subject to change by the Florida Board of Governors at any time. For the most current tuition fees visit www.fau.edu/controller/student_information/tuition_breakdown.php or www.fau.edu/regulations/chapter8.

The tuition and fees apply to all courses, to all degree- and non-degree-seeking students and for all semesters-fall, spring, summer term 1, summer term 2 and summer term 3-unless specifically noted otherwise in official University publications. To determine their fee schedule, students auditing classes should read the last paragraph in Registration for Auditors in the Registration and Records section of this catalog.

All degree-seeking students should read the Financial Assistance Opportunities section of this catalog.

Students registering for summer term 3 courses during the summer terms 1 and 2 registration period must pay all fees in full (including summer term 3's fees) by the summer terms 1 and 2's last day to pay fees deadline. See the Academic Calendar.

Student Account Authorized Users
Students can authorize others, such as parents, guardians or sponsors, to view their accounts and pay their bills. To authorize a user, the student submits the new user’s email address and signs an electronic authorization on the FAU Billing website. Sign-up instructions can be found here.

Direct Deposit

Signing up for Direct Deposit will expedite receipt of refunds for financial aid and all other refunds due from students' accounts. Effective January 2013, refund checks will no longer be mailed, they will have to be picked up at the Controller’s Office in Boca Raton. Instructions can be found here.

Repeated Enrollment Fee

A student enrolled in the same undergraduate college credit course more than twice will be charged a Repeat Course Surcharge for the third and subsequent enrollments in the course. Individualized study courses and courses intended to continue over multiple semesters may be excluded from this charge. See Repeat Course Surcharge in the Academic Policies and Regulations section for more details.

Sundry Fees

Late Payment Fee*
$100
Late Registration Fee*
$100
Application (fee non-refundable)
$30
Material and Supply Fee**
variable
Mandatory Photo ID Fee***
$10
Freshman Orientation
(charge non-refundable)
$75
Freshman Tuition Deposit
(fee non-refundable)
$200
Transfer Orientation
(charge non-refundable)
$45
eLearning Fee (per credit hour)
$37
Transportation Access
includes parking decal (fee non-refundable)****
Summer
$32.04
Fall and Spring
$76.90/per semester

* See Academic Calendar for dates. An initial registration after the end of the Drop/Add period will incur a $100 late registration fee.

** Certain courses have been designated to include material and supply fees.

*** A mandatory photo ID fee must be paid during the first semester enrolled at FAU or for replacement of a lost photo ID. This is a non-refundable fee. Students must present a paid fee receipt at the photo ID office in the Student Union, Boca Raton campus (or other campus locations) to have the photo ID processed.

**** All students are assessed a transportation access fee at the time of registration to be paid along with their tuition. This fee supports the University's transportation infrastructure and increases student access to transportation services. Upon registration, a student will be eligible to obtain a permit online through myfau.fau.edu. Parking and Transportation Services is responsible for managing parking services on all FAU campuses. All students, whether part-time, full-time, day or evening or members of the Lifelong Learning Society, are required to pay a transportation access fee, which is included in the tuition at the time of registration. Decals may be obtained online at myfau.fau.edu, under the "Students" tab. For more information, call 561-297-2771 or visit the Parking and Transportation Services website for a copy of the parking rules, an FAU map or visitor information.

topofpage

Estimates of Living Expenses
Click here to see budgets used in financial aid processing. The figures provide a rough estimate of the basic expenses for full-time, Florida-resident undergraduate and graduate students at FAU for an academic year (fall and spring semesters).

Fee Payment Drop Box
The Boca Raton campus is the only campus location that provides the convenience of a drop box. The drop box is available in the Student Support Services Building (SU 80). If the amount of fees due is known, students are encouraged to put checks in the drop box. Please write the Student ID number on the check. Do not deposit cash in the drop box. No envelopes are required. NOTE: By depositing check payments in the drop box, you are authorizing FAU to electronically process your check. The electronic debit to your checking account may be on the same day your check payment is processed.

Registration Cancellation by the University

Unless prior payment arrangements have been made with the Controller's Office, failure to pay all tuition and fees by the end of the designated fee payment deadlines will result in cancellation of the student's registration by the Controller's Office (i.e., the courses selected by the student).

Students cancelled for non-payment of fees have this option: Reinstatement requires full payment of all tuition and fees immediately, plus a $100 late payment and a $100 reinstatement fee. Reinstatement after the 28th day of classes requires an appeal to be filed with the Registrar's Office.

Dishonored Checks
Pursuant to Florida law, individuals have 15 days from receipt of “notice to tender payment to Florida Atlantic University” to pay for the full amount of a dishonored check, plus a service charge of $25 if the face value of the check does not exceed $50; $30 if the face value of the check exceeds $50, but does not exceed $300; $40 if the face value of the check exceeds $300, but does not exceed $800; and 5 percent of the face value of the check in the amount of $800 or greater. Electronic check payments (WebChecks) returned due to entering an invalid account number will be assessed a $25 service charge.

Unless this amount is paid in full within the specified time, the dishonored check may be turned over to the state attorney for criminal prosecution and/or to a collection agency.

Individuals who do not tender payment within the 15-day period are also subject to cancellation of registration with fee liability.

Individuals who have given two or more dishonored checks will be placed on a cash, money order or cashier’s check basis for any subsequent registrations.

Note: Stopping payment on a check is considered the same as a dishonored check.

topofpage

Dropping Courses
Once courses are selected for the semester, no changes in course status occur unless the student initiates the changes. To drop a course(s), the University's formal drop procedure must be followed by accessing the appropriate option within FAU Self-Service, available through MyFAU. Failing to attend the course(s), telling the instructor(s) of an intention to drop, failing to pay tuition and fees for a course(s) or similar action will not change the student's course selection status nor will it reduce fee liability. For more information regarding the drop procedure, refer to the Academic Policies and Regulations section of this catalog.

Fee Liability
Fee liability (meaning payment is due for all tuition and fees) occurs when a fee deferment is accepted (i.e., deferrals for financial aid applicants who are approved to receive aid), arrangements for fee payment are made or a partial payment is made. Formally dropping a course(s) before the end of the drop/add period relieves the student of fee liability for the course(s) that are dropped. Formally dropping a course(s) after the drop/add period does not change fee liability. Students must still pay for the course(s) that they drop.

Refund of Registration Fees

1. Students who drop a class or withdraw from the University before the end of the first week of classes will receive a full refund, less non-refundable fees.

2. Students who withdraw from the University for purposes other than exceptional circumstances during the second through fourth weeks of the current semester will receive a 25 percent refund, less non-refundable fees. This policy does not apply to summer term 2 or summer term 3.

3. Students who drop a class after the fourth week of classes will not receive a refund unless the drop takes place due to exceptional circumstances, such as illness, military conscription or death of an immediate family member. Situations such as employment changes, relocation of home, transportation problems, dislike for the instructor/course, etc., are not considered "exceptional circumstances." For more information, see Exceptional Circumstance Withdrawal below.

4. If a student drops a class after the drop/add period, a full refund, less any non-refundable fees, may be provided upon approval of the Fee Petition by the Office of the Controller, Student Financial Services Department, SU 130. The Fee Petition form should be completed online and then printed and submitted along with the supporting documentation to substantiate the petition. The Fee Petition form must be submitted within six months after the last day of classes for the semester. Situations such as employment changes, relocation of home, transportation problems, dislike for the instructor/course, etc., are not considered circumstances for filing a fee petition.

5.  Students receiving financial aid who withdraw from the University before completing 60 percent of a term must repay all or a portion of aid received, including grants, since the funds were awarded to meet educational expenses for the entire semester. The Office of Student Financial Aid is responsible for calculating the distribution of tuition refunds issued by the Controller's Office, and for determining amounts that must be repaid by the student. Before withdrawing, please read all of the information on this topic here.

Refund of Housing Fees
The Housing Contract cannot be cancelled after the opening date for housing. Any student who has not cancelled the Housing Contract before the opening date of housing will be responsible for all University housing fees for the academic year.

A full refund of housing fees will be granted if a student is denied admission to the University or is academically suspended and requests a cancellation before the opening date for housing.

Each resident is encouraged to become familiar with the terms, conditions and freshman residency requirement specified in the Housing Contract.

Exceptional Circumstance Withdrawal (Medical Withdrawal)
Students withdrawing from all classes in the current semester due to exceptional circumstances, such as illness of the student, military conscription, becoming primary care-giver to immediate family member or death of an immediate family member (parent, spouse, child, sibling or grandparent), may receive a refund, less non-refundable fees, if the request for ECW is granted. Students seeking Exceptional Circumstance Withdrawals should contact the Associate Vice President and Dean of Students at 561-297-2656 for the appropriate paperwork or visit www.fau.edu/dean.


Withdrawal from the University
Students who withdraw from the University for purposes other than exceptional circumstances during the second through fourth weeks of the current semester will receive a 25 percent refund, less non-refundable fees. No refunds for withdrawal other than for exceptional circumstances will be granted after the fourth week of classes. This policy does not apply to summer term 2 or summer term 3.


Delinquent Accounts/Collections
According to Florida Statutes 1010.03, each University is directed to exert every effort to collect all delinquent accounts, including utilizing a collection agency and restricting the release of transcripts, diplomas and other University services. Therefore, any student account with a balance more than 90 days past due is deemed eligible to be sent to collections. Once a student account is placed with a collection agency, the account will be assessed significant collection costs, up to 33.33 percent, in addition to the original account balance.

topofpage