< Go back to page 1


A memorial service for four students slain at Kent State University during an anti-war demonstration is held on the lawn between the Administration Building and the Breezeway.

Pine Jog Environmental Center in West Palm Beach becomes affiliated with FAU’s College of Education.


FAU expands to Broward County with creation of the Commercial Boulevard campus in northern Fort Lauderdale.

The Boca Raton campus becomes a burrowing owl sanctuary.


The University Center, a hub of student life, opens.

President Williams announces his intention to retire.


The Board of Regents names Dr. Glenwood Creech the second president of Florida Atlantic University. Formerly vice president for university relations at the University of Kentucky, his special strength is in the area of fund-raising.

Fall semester enrollment is 5,632.


FAU's ocean engineering program is designated a Program of Distinction by the State University System.

The University Library is named to honor the memory of founding administrator Dr. Stanley E. Wimberly.


Fleming Hall, housing the College of Business, is dedicated. Its name honors the memory of FAU founding father Tom Fleming, who died in 1976.


The Board of Regents approves a nursing education program for FAU. The program begins the following year as a division within the College of Social Science.


The State of Florida initiates a matching gift program, which encourages the establishment of Eminent Scholar Chairs at public universities by matching $600,000 donations from private donors with $400,000 in state funds. FAU is quick to take advantage of this opportunity.


The Charles Stewart Mott Eminent Scholar Chair in Community Education is established through a gift from the Charles Stewart Mott Foundation.


The Engineering Building opens.

The 2,400-seat FAU Auditorium opens at the University Center.

The Lullis and Rolland Ritter Art Gallery opens.


President Creech retires, and Dr. Helen Popovich is named FAU’s third president by the Board of Regents. Formerly vice president for academic affairs and acting president of Winona State University in Minnesota, Dr. Popovich is the first woman to head a public university in Florida.

Fall semester enrollment is 9,388.

The Eugene and Christine Lynn Eminent Scholar Chair in International Business is established through a gift from Eugene and Christine Lynn.

The Charles E. Schmidt Eminent Scholar Chair in Engineering is established through a gift from Charles and Dorothy Schmidt.

The Dorothy F. Schmidt Eminent Scholar Chair in the Performing Arts is established through a gift from Charles and Dorothy Schmidt.

American theatre legend Joshua Logan is appointed the first Dorothy F. Schmidt Eminent Scholar in the Performing Arts. He stages his last play, Huck and Jim on the Mississippi, at FAU.

Dr. John DeGrove, a founding dean and director of the FAU-FIU Joint
Center for Environmental and Urban Problems, is named Florida’s first Secretary of Community Affairs by Governor Bob Graham.

FAU's intercollegiate athletics program joins NCAA Division II.


In response to the need to offer a broader range of services to South Florida’s rapidly growing population, FAU opens its doors to freshmen and sophomores.

The University’s 70,000-square-foot teaching gymnasium opens.

The FAU baseball team finishes the season at No. 8 in the NCAA national rankings.


The Dr. Robert J. Morrow Eminent Scholar Chair in Social Science is established through a gift from his widow, Johanna Morrow.

The Glenwood and Martha Creech Eminent Scholar Chair in Science is established through gifts from more than 50 donors who wish to honor his recently concluded service as FAU's second president.

FAU's Downtown Fort Lauderdale campus opens on Las Olas Boulevard.


Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Edward Albee becomes the Dorothy F. Schmidt Eminent Scholar in the Performing Arts.


The Reubin O’D. Askew University Tower opens in downtown Fort Lauderdale. The nine-story classroom and office building greatly expands FAU’s service to students in Broward County and is a key component in the redevelopment of the downtown area.

The S.E. Wimberly Library is expanded by more than 86,000 square feet.

The Christine E. Lynn Eminent Scholar Chair in Nursing is established by Eugene and Christine Lynn.

Tony Award-winning actor/director Hume Cronyn becomes the Dorothy F. Schmidt Eminent Scholar in the Performing Arts.


President Popovich leaves FAU and becomes president of Michigan’s Ferris State University.

The John Thomas Ladue McGinty Eminent Scholar Chair in Marine Biology is established through a gift from a bequest from the estate of John Thomas Ladue McGinty.


The Board of Regents names Dr. Anthony James Catanese the fourth president of FAU. He comes to FAU from the University of Florida, where he was dean of the School of Architecture.

The Florida Legislature designates FAU the lead state university serving Broward County.

The University reaches $10 million in sponsored research activity.

Fall semester enrollment is 13,148.

Former U.S. President Jimmy Carter delivers a public lecture on the Boca Raton campus.

Four-time Tony Award-winning actress Zoe Caldwell becomes the Dorothy F. Schmidt Eminent Scholar in the Performing Arts.

The William F. Dietrich Eminent Scholar Chair in Philosophy is established through a gift from William F. Dietrich.

The College of Architecture, Urban and Public Affairs is created and based in the Reubin O’D. Askew University Tower in downtown Fort Lauderdale.

A student team from FAU's Department of Ocean Engineering wins the first International Human-Powered Submarine Race, held off the coast of Riviera Beach, Florida. Their winning sub is named the FAU Boat.

> Go to page 3 (1990-present)

Copyright 2004 Florida Atlantic University